Freecycle: Making other people’s garbage your treasure…

So I just picked up 20 plastic clothes hangers from a freecycler today. What is freecycle, you ask? It’s basically a online network, divided up geographically, with people sending each other emails about stuff they are willing to give away. That way, we can all lower consumptions levels, resulting in less garbage and less buying of unnecessary things.

Why is freecyle so awesome?

  1. It’s free
  2. It helpful to the environment, lowering people’s consumption levels
  3. I tend to walk to the houses where I pick stuff up, so I get some exercise to boot!

Great idea, right? I ended up joining my local freecycle, which consisted of me joining a yahoo group. I would highly recommend either having a specific email address for freecycle or creating some sort of filter in your gmail/thunderbird/whatever account because you will get ALOT of emails.

It’s definitely fun to go through the different emails and see what people are giving away! So far, I’ve gotten hangers, computer speakers, and christmas ornaments! Plus, since I throw away less stuff, I’ve been able to downsize my garbage can, resulting in further savings! So thank you freecycle, for giving me free stuff, saving me money AND making me feel environmentally responsible!

Info from their website, The Freecycle Network:

The Freecycle Network™ is made up of 4,643 groups with 6,205,000 members across the globe. It’s a grassroots and entirely nonprofit movement of people who are giving (& getting) stuff for free in their own towns. It’s all about reuse and keeping good stuff out of landfills. Each local group is moderated by a local volunteer (them’s good people). Membership is free.

Leave a Reply

